SOC 2 certified AI meeting assistant: 2026 buyer’s guide
An honest buyer’s guide: what a SOC 2 badge is worth, how to check the report and which tools state it, with every fact dated.
In this article
Strictly speaking, no AI meeting assistant is “SOC 2 certified”: SOC 2 is an audit report issued by an independent CPA firm, not a certification. Fireflies, Otter, Granola, Fathom, Noota, Modjo, MeetGeek and tl;dv state a SOC 2 Type II report. Ask for the report, then check its type, period and scope.
We make Reline, so read this as a vendor’s guide. Reline has no SOC 2 report today; we explain below what it has instead. Every fact about another tool comes from that vendor’s own page, checked on 22 October 2026, and may change.
What is SOC 2, exactly?
SOC 2 is a framework from the AICPA, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. An independent CPA firm examines a service provider’s controls against the Trust Services Criteria, which have five categories: security, availability, processing integrity, confidentiality and privacy. Security is mandatory; the provider picks any of the other four. The auditor then gives an opinion in a report, usually shared with customers under an NDA.
Type I vs Type II: the difference that matters
| SOC 2 Type I | SOC 2 Type II | |
|---|---|---|
| What is examined | The design of controls, on one date | The design and operating effectiveness of controls over a period |
| Period | None: a snapshot | Usually 3 to 12 months |
| What it proves | The controls are suitably designed and in place on that date | The controls actually worked, with any exceptions listed |
| For enterprise procurement | A first step, rarely enough | What most security teams ask for |
Type 1 audits don’t look back over a period of performance.
That line is from Microsoft’s documentation. Microsoft has Office 365 audited over a rolling 12-month window, 1 October to 30 September, and issues “bridge letters” between reports to cover the gap: statements from Microsoft itself, not auditor reports.
Why “SOC 2 certified” is a misnomer
ISO 27001 is a certification: a body certifies a security management system and issues a certificate valid for three years. SOC 2 is an attestation: a report that describes a system and gives an opinion. Vendors say “SOC 2 certified” all the time, but the right question is still: “Can you send me your latest SOC 2 Type II report?” European buyers also often ask for ISO 27001, and some sectors add their own schemes, such as HDS for health data in France.
How to read a SOC 2 report in 15 minutes
- Type and period: Type II, with a period that ended less than 12 months ago. If not, ask for the bridge letter that covers the gap.
- Scope (the system description): are the meeting assistant and its AI features in it? A report can cover the core platform and leave out a newer product. Zoom, for example, explicitly lists AI Companion in the scope of its report.
- Criteria covered: security only, or also confidentiality and privacy? For meeting recordings, those two matter.
- The auditor’s opinion: an unqualified opinion is the expected norm; a qualified one needs a written explanation.
- Exceptions and management responses: a few exceptions are normal; what matters is what they were and how they were fixed.
- Subservice organizations: hosting, transcription and AI providers. If they are carved out of scope, ask for their own reports.
- Your side of the controls (complementary user entity controls, or CUECs, listed in the report): SSO, access reviews, offboarding. The report assumes you do them.
No full report without an NDA? That is normal. Some vendors also publish a SOC 3 report, which is public and much shorter, but it does not replace SOC 2 for a security review.
Which AI meeting assistants state SOC 2?
The table below reports what each vendor says on its own page, checked on 22 October 2026. It is the vendor’s statement, not our audit: only the report itself is proof.
| Tool | SOC 2 (per vendor) | Other frameworks | Hosting (per vendor) | Page checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fireflies.ai | SOC 2 Type II | ISO 42001; HIPAA with a BAA (Enterprise with Private Storage) | Location of your choice with Private Storage (Enterprise) | fireflies.ai/security |
| Otter.ai | SOC 2 Type 2 | Policies based on the ISO 27001/2 framework (no certification stated) | AWS; no data residency option stated | otter.ai/privacy-security |
| Granola | SOC 2 Type 2 | DPA on request | AWS in the USA | granola.ai/security |
| Fathom | SOC 2 Type II | HIPAA; no ISO 27001 | USA | help.fathom.video |
| Noota | SOC 2 Type II | ISO 27001 | European customers: data centres in Belgium and the Netherlands | trust.noota.io |
| Modjo | SOC 2 Type II | None other stated | AWS in France | modjo.ai (Trust Center) |
| MeetGeek | SOC 2 Type II (announced 2023, page updated March 2026) | Not stated on that page | Not stated on that page | MeetGeek blog |
| tl;dv | SOC 2 Type II (its older Enterprise page still says Type I) | Not stated | Data centres in Europe; AI hosted in Europe or the US, your choice | tldv.io/features/security-commitment |
| Jamie | SOC 2 Type II “pending” | ISO 27001 | Hosted in the EU | meetjamie.ai/pricing |
| Leexi | Not mentioned | ISO 27001 | Data kept in Europe | leexi.ai/en/security |
| Zoom AI Companion | In scope of Zoom’s SOC 2 Type 2 report (security, availability) | HITRUST | Not stated on that page | zoom.com (SOC 2 + HITRUST) |
| Microsoft Teams | In scope of the Office 365 SOC 2 Type 2 report | Check that Copilot features are in the system description | Customer-chosen region for most services | learn.microsoft.com |
| Reline | None; SOC 2 Type II on the roadmap | No ISO 27001, no HIPAA BAA | USA, EU Standard Contractual Clauses | reline.so/security |
How to read this: if SOC 2 Type II is a procurement requirement, Fireflies, Otter, Granola, Fathom, Noota, Modjo, MeetGeek and tl;dv state it; ask them for the report. Jamie states a Type II still pending. If you want both SOC 2 Type II and European hosting, Noota, Modjo and tl;dv state both; Noota also states ISO 27001. If your company’s video platform is enough, Zoom’s and Teams’ AI features inherit their platform’s reports, subject to scope.
What SOC 2 does not cover (and your DPO will check)
- GDPR. A SOC 2 report does not replace the Article 28 data processing agreement, your lawful basis or notice to the people recorded.
- Where data lives and how it moves. SOC 2 does not say where data is hosted. For a US vendor, an EU company needs a transfer mechanism: the Data Privacy Framework or Standard Contractual Clauses.
- Model training. A vendor can hold an excellent SOC 2 report and still train models on de-identified data: Otter’s privacy policy says so, for example. Read the DPA and the privacy policy.
- Retention. How long do audio, transcripts and meeting notes stay stored, and is deletion complete?
- Participant consent. Visible bot or bot-free capture, the duty to inform everyone in the meeting stays yours.
- The future. A report describes a past period. What changed since (a new AI feature, a new subprocessor) is not in it.
For the GDPR side in depth (DPA, transfers, retention, works councils), see our guide to GDPR-compliant AI notetakers. For the full checklist an IT team runs, see our approval checklist.
Questions to ask the vendor
- Can you send your latest SOC 2 Type II report and the current bridge letter?
- Are the meeting assistant, transcription and AI features in scope?
- Which criteria are covered besides security?
- Which exceptions did the auditor note, and how did you fix them?
- Which subprocessors handle audio and transcripts, in which country, and do they have their own reports?
- Where is data stored and processed, and under which transfer mechanism?
- Do you train models on our meetings, and are your AI providers allowed to?
- Does the DPA cover the plan we buy, or only Enterprise?
Where does Reline stand, honestly?
Reline has no SOC 2 report today. SOC 2 Type II is on its roadmap; Reline also has no ISO 27001 and no HIPAA BAA. If a SOC 2 Type II report is a hard requirement for your procurement team, Reline is not the right pick today.
Here is what Reline does have, as published on its security page: TLS 1.2 or higher on every request, encryption at rest for the database and recordings, notes private by default with five-level permissions, an append-only activity log on every note (all plans) plus a workspace audit log on Enterprise, and SSO with Google and Microsoft on request for Enterprise. The DPA is pre-signed at reline.so/dpa, the subprocessor list is public, and Reline does not train models on your data. Data is hosted in the USA under the EU Standard Contractual Clauses. Security documentation is shared under NDA.
On the product side, Reline captures your microphone and system audio locally, with no bot in the call; transcription, AI and storage run in the cloud. If the visible bot is your real problem, our French-language round-up of bot-free AI notetakers covers the options.
Common questions
- Can an AI meeting assistant be “SOC 2 certified”?
- Not strictly. SOC 2 is an attestation: an independent CPA firm examines the provider’s controls and gives an opinion in a report. People say “SOC 2 certified” out of habit, but what you should ask for is the latest SOC 2 Type II report, with its period and scope.
- What is the difference between SOC 2 Type I and Type II?
- Type I examines the design of controls on one date. Type II also examines whether they operated effectively over a period, usually 3 to 12 months. For enterprise procurement, Type II is what most security teams ask for.
- Is a SOC 2 AI meeting assistant GDPR compliant?
- Not automatically. SOC 2 does not cover the Article 28 agreement, your lawful basis, where data is hosted, transfers outside the EU or notice to participants. Handle GDPR separately with your DPO. Not legal advice.
- How do I get a vendor’s SOC 2 report?
- Through its trust center or security team. The full report is almost always shared under an NDA. A public, shorter SOC 3 report sometimes exists, but it does not replace SOC 2 for a security review.
- SOC 2 or ISO 27001?
- They overlap a lot. ISO 27001 is an international certification widely requested in Europe; SOC 2 is the standard US buyers expect. Among the tools checked on 22 October 2026, Noota states both, and Leexi and Jamie state ISO 27001.
- Is Reline SOC 2 certified?
- No. Reline has no SOC 2 report today; SOC 2 Type II is on its roadmap. Reline encrypts data in transit and at rest, keeps notes private by default, signs a DPA, publishes its subprocessors and shares security documentation under NDA.
Related posts

Best GDPR-compliant AI notetaker for EU companies (2026)
What GDPR-compliant really means for an AI notetaker in the EU: DPA, data location vs transfers, retention, AI training, consent and a sourced tool table.

AI Notetaker IT Admin Checklist: 12 Controls to Verify
The vendor-neutral checklist IT uses to approve an AI notetaker: SSO, SCIM deprovisioning, team-scoped access, retention, Slack scopes and rollout.

The best bot-free AI notetakers for French teams (2026)
The best bot-free AI notetakers in 2026 for teams that work in French: Reline, Granola, Bluedot, Jamie, Krisp, Circleback — plus the CNIL rules for recording a meeting in France.
Stop taking notes.Start shipping outcomes.
Free forever for individuals. Five minutes to install. Your next meeting writes its own notes.